Unsend iMessages: Hands-on with the new iOS 16 iPhone feature

The Messages app will get some helpful upgrades this 12 months with iOS 16. One of many attention-grabbing options is the power to unsend iMessages on iPhone. Comply with alongside for a hands-on have a look at how the function works, its limitations, and what the expertise is like for the individual on the opposite finish.
Apple’s Messages app beneficial properties a handful of recent options with iOS 16. Three huge ones are the choice to edit iMessages, utterly unsend iMessages, and mark textual content messages as unread.
Beneath we’ll deal with the way it works to unsend iMessages on iPhone.
iOS 16 is presently accessible as a developer beta. The free public iOS 16 beta is about to reach in July. Study extra about putting in iOS 16 in our full information.
Unsend iMessages: How the iPhone function works in iOS 16
- Working iOS 16 on iPhone, open the Messages app
- Discover the dialog and the precise message you need to unsend
- Lengthy-press on the message
- Faucet Undo Ship
- Undo Ship and the brand new Edit message choice work as much as quarter-hour after sending
- Apple notes that once you attempt to unsend iMessages that have been despatched to somebody operating iOS 15 or earlier, they might nonetheless be capable of see them
Right here’s how the unsend iMessage function seems to be in iOS 16:
You don’t want to verify the motion, as quickly as you unsend iMessages on iPhone, you’ll see a bit animation the place they burst and disappear.

Caveats and limitations
One thing essential to remember, if the individual isn’t on iOS 16 that you just despatched, after which unsent an iMessage, Apple provides a discover that they “should still be capable of see your message.”
And if the one who obtained the unique message is on iOS 16, they’ll get an alert within the thread {that a} message was unsent (proven under).
However one attention-grabbing side is the notification for the iMessage is eliminated on their gadget together with the message once you unsend.

So they’ll see that you just used the function, however might not know what it was (so long as they didn’t see a preview of the textual content when the unique message was despatched).






